Talk This Way

A thought:

Not a lot of people realize this, but I generally think before I speak. What I mean is this: if I have something mildly important to say, I will plan exactly how I’m going to say it long before it actually comes out of my mouth. I’ll agonize over each word, trying to figure the most effective way to get my point across. If I’ve ever said anything somewhat interesting to you, it’s probably because I “scripted” it. I don’t know why I do this, but I have for as long as I can remember.

Here in France, it’s different. I only know one or two ways to say something, so I don’t have many options to choose from. I can only create the sentence and check for grammatical errors in my head, and then hope that it comes out ok.

It makes things a bit easier.

One comment on “Talk This Way

  1. Brenda says:

    Kaycee, thank you so much for your blog…I am enjoying it immensely!!!
    Your writing is so great, you could be a novelist or, at least a documentarian…And, thank goodness, you have the family sence of humor….Keep the blogs coming…I look forward to them every night…Love you and please be careful….Your favorite aunt that doesn’t live on a mountain….Brenda

Leave a Reply

