Seven Nation Army

Today, I’m pretty sure I gained enough international experience to be immediately appointed to an ambassadorship.

My first class of the day was a course on British culture taught in English by a Frenchman.

Get your head around that one for a second.

This class is meant for French students, which means that it’s taught as a second language course, so every sentence was repeated at least twice so everyone would understand. Meanwhile, I dozed in a corner. Pretty sure the hardest part about this class is going to be trying to understand the teacher’s accent.

At lunch, I stumbled upon a flower market and ate crêpes at a vendor’s cart made by a Frenchman with a student from Saudi Arabia.

Another moment to let that one sink in.

For one thing, they were crazy delicious crêpes. For another, the vendor was hilarious and really nice to the two of us students. The Saudi Arabian didn’t speak much French, so I helped him order. I felt smart for the first time in a few days, and who can beat three euros for two crêpes and a cup of tea?

My next class was European history taught in French by a Frenchwoman.

Ok, that really isn’t that hard to comprehend.

Thank goodness, I took a little class called AP European History in high school, and I think it’s gonna save my butt now. I could follow along with the teacher, but it definitely went a little too fast for me to understand everything if it were my first time learning about the Edict of Nantes. I think it’ll be fine.

After a quick supper of beets (actually yummy) and pasta, Laurent, Martine, and I went to see Mathieu’s orchestra concert. Among other things, they played a Cole Porter medley and the wonderful Holberg Suite by Grieg, which I played in high school. They did well, and it made me wish I were still involved in a large orchestra.

I’m still trying to convince the choir director here that I’m competent enough to be in his group-I think I’ll just barge into his office one day and sightread whatever’s on his desk.
Making friends and influencing people, one Solfege step at a time.

3 comments on “Seven Nation Army

  1. Rach says:

    Your adventures sound so exciting! I’m loving your blog, amiga. You write really well!

  2. Brenda says:

    My Dear Kaycee….I am enjoying so much your daily blogs…I think I’ve said before, your writing is wonderful. The humor makes me laugh…And, I think, since I did take French in High School, I can translate some of what you say in that language!!!!Keep it up…
    Today, at work, a customer was giving me Spanish lessons…I also took Spanish in High School…
    I commented, “learning Spanish from a customer at work and French from my niece from her blog.” Please keep the blogs coming…I same them to read last…As someone said….Save the best for the last….Much love to you, and just between you and me….just how good looking was the guy from Saudi Arabia!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

