In the Cold, Cold Night

Tonight, I’m posting rather late because I had a wild night out with all my friends.

My host family and I took a late-night tour of the department newspaper headquarters.

Essentially just a monstrous screen-printing machine.


Mathieu was unimpressed and sleepy.


Each of these rolls of paper weighs a ton and will produce 20,000 full newspapers.


Hot off the press!

It was actually pretty cool; the office was alive with reporters putting the finishing touches on their articles, which are then edited about a million times by a million different people, then sent out to be printed on monstrous rolls of paper. By three in the morning, everything is ready to be shipped out by truck to all the various towns nearby and by bicycle to the local neighborhoods. Think of all the things that happen while the rest of us sleep-the newspaper is made, the garbage is picked up, baguettes are baked. A completely different world marching along in the middle of the night.

Anyway, the rest of my day wasn’t nearly as exciting or informative, but I did manage to get all of my classes finally picked out (I think) and I picked up my student ID card. I had one class scheduled for today, but the professor never showed up. Not a bad Thursday at all.

I don’t have classes on Fridays, so tomorrow I hope to spend some time loitering around centuries-old buildings.

Leave a Reply

