The Longest Day Is Over

Whew. Tuesdays are going to be loooong days.
I woke up in the middle of the night (aka 7 AM) to race to my first class. The sun didn’t even begin to rise until I was halfway there. I’ve never been a morning person, but it’s even harder to get up in the cold and damp dark.

Today I had Written French Expression (taught in French for native French speakers), English Translation (taught in French for exchange students only), British Civilization (taught in English for native French speakers), and CUEFEE French language (taught in French for exchange students only).

Most of my day was spent with other exchange students, so we tried to get to know each other and make friends. I consider myself to be an outgoing person, but grouping a bunch of foreigners into one room and trying to force them to be friendly simply because they speak the same language does not guarantee life-long friendship. It was pretty awkward, but hopefully we’ll all be one big happy family by the end of the semester.

I did manage to make a few new friends, though. We all had a big break before our CUEFEE class, so several of us went to the corner grocery store to buy baguettes, candy, and wine. Not much of a nutritious dinner, but you’ve gotta love a country where a bottle of rosé is cheaper than a bottle of Coke.

Leave a Reply

