Grapefruit-Juicy Fruit

Did you know that there is a specific way to cut a grapefruit? I didn’t. Apparently, this perfectly round fruit is supposed to be cut sideways, not longways. And apparently, I’m supposed to recognize the difference. It’s little things like this that stress me out.

The right way

The wrong way


Oh well, the family got a kick out of it.

Other low points of the day included not understanding most of the lecture on children’s literature this morning and ordering the wrong sandwich at lunch. Who would have thought that a steak sandwich would have mustard? Crazy French condiments.

I do have one positive thing to say, though (cheers from the audience). My international relations class is going to be awesome. The professor is absolutely hilarious, and a little more than slightly inappropriate. He asked all of us exchange students where we were from and then completely bashed our respective countries. The last girl was from Germany, and he said, “Oh, that’s too easy. I won’t go there. I just want you to know that my dad is Jewish.” Slightly too far? Yes. But I think it’ll be an interesting class.

Since tomorrow’s an off day for me, I think I’ll watch Harry Potter en français and call it homework.

One comment on “Grapefruit-Juicy Fruit

  1. […] my parents up on the grapefruit debacle. Maybe by the time I leave France I’ll have gained some knowledge about […]

Leave a Reply

