With a Little Help from My Friends

Well, yesterday’s blizzard washed away in the night and today’s activities resumed as usual. I had classes from 9 AM to 8 PM, then raced to home to find Mathieu waiting up for me with dinner on the table. He’s a sweetie.

Besides Mathieu and Simon, I’ve decided that it’s going to be difficult to make friends here. I knew that living with a host family would physically separate me from the other exchange students who live in dorms, but I didn’t think it would make too much of a difference once I showed them all my sparkling personality and brilliant sense of humor in class.

I thought wrong.

I’ve made several acquaintances here, but most people are reluctant to chat for more than a few minutes and completely refuse to make plans outside of school. I’m used to the Southern way of being enthusiastically friendly around strangers and old friends alike, and constantly inviting people to go for coffee even if you have no intention of ever doing so. Everyone’s heard of the French being somewhat closed off from strangers, but I thought the other exchange students would be easy to befriend. I guess I’ll have to work a little harder! If it doesn’t work out, I’ll just be one-man wolfpack.

Any ideas?

2 comments on “With a Little Help from My Friends

  1. Rhonda Catanzaro says:

    We have a young friend who lived in Paris for a couple of years–I will ask her. I am surprised and disappointed. Choir, a church? Your town may not be large enough to have a group of American expats–I think your sparkling personality will win the day!

  2. Mom says:

    Perhaps the school choir will work out and you will meet people that way.

Leave a Reply

