Wonderful

Thank goodness, the wind died down a bit today so it felt much better outside. I made a trip to the Walmart-esque store to buy a folder this morning, something I’ve been putting off for two weeks. Some may call me unnecessarily picky about choosing school supplies; I call it having high standards. Needless to say, France does not always carry the same brands or even similar products as Walmart. After clogging up the aisle for at least ten minutes, I ended up buying a fun rainbow accordion folder that has straps to hold individual papers in place rather than pockets. Hey, at least it’s colorful. I’ll get used to it.

Today was another wonderful day for food. The usual baguette and Laurent’s homemade honey made a fine breakfast. We had hamburger steak and mashed cauliflower and carrots for lunch. Tastes just like mashed potatoes, I promise! Every time we eat meat, I’m a little concerned about the bright pink center, but I haven’t gotten sick yet. This is full cultural immersion, people! For dinner, Martine and I made miniature onion tarts and vegetable soup. Of course, lunch and dinner always include bread, yogurt, a cheese plate, fruit, and coffee. Talk about living the good life. I know I write often about food here, but it’s just so interesting to me to see how other families and cultures differ in their everyday ingredients and preparation.

Also, I just really like food.

2 comments on “Wonderful

  1. Rhonda Catanzaro says:

    Sounds delish–your descriptions of the food always make my mouth water! BTW, there was a very interesting article in the Wall Street Journal about why French children are so better behaved than American children. The author and her husband, both Americans, are living in France for the husband’s job. They have small children who act like normal American kids at mealtimes in restaurants (opening and pouring sugar packets on the table, cracker crumbs everywhere, wanting to get out of their high chairs and run around the place, etc.). The author writes that the French moms and dads can enjoy their evening out because their children are happily sitting in their high chairs eating their food….she writes of other examples about French children learning to be patient (the no snacking enters here, she says) and appear to be more independent than American children and do not have to be constantly entertained as do many American kids. Have you seen such?

    • kcenroute says:

      Hi Rhonda! I have not been in any restaurants here in France, but the few children I’ve seen seem very well mannered. I have yet to see any children acting out in stores or out on the streets. They quietly tag along and never have to be pulled around by their parents. Simon is in that stage where he loves to annoy his big brother, but he’s not too bad. The kids definitely entertain themselves and generally do their homework and chores without being asked. They’re very independent. I’ll let you know if I see any hissy fits!

Leave a Reply

