All the Small Things

Sometimes, it’s the little things in life that make the best days. Here’s a list of my favorite “little things” from this weekend.

Mini candy bars sent all the way from the USA by my favorite Valentines, my mom and dad. Actually, it’s kind of pitiful how excited one can get over a fun-size KitKat.
Tiny jars of Laurent’s latest honey experiments. Did you realize you could create vastly different flavors of honey according to the flowers from which the bees collect pollen? I never thought it would matter as much as it does.
Dobble, a lightning-speed card game that the whole family played after lunch today. Each round only lasts fifteen seconds but involves a ton of French vocabulary.
Espresso shots every afternoon. I’m finally used to the taste of coffee without milk, sugar, and syrup! My Starbucks tab will be significantly reduced come next Fall.
My short walk to the médiatheque (the library) each Saturday. Yes, I now consider a two-mile walk to be quick and relaxing.
Little conversations with Martine about all sorts of things: cooking, her favorite places to travel, how dirty living with three boys can be…because she works pretty late, we generally talk just before bedtime while we straighten up the living room together. It’s nice to hear her opinions on things without the kids hanging around.

Taking the time to appreciate the “little things” is something I would normally never get to do in the States, but I love the fact that my schedule here allows me to slow down and take it all in. Good for the mind; good for the soul.

One comment on “All the Small Things

  1. Lara says:

    Really? A smaller bill at Starbucks? I will believe it when I see it!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

