Family Is What You Make It

Today was lovely. My morning was spent in front of the fireplace, reading a photography book about Robert Doisneau, a famous French photographer with whom I’ve recently become mildly obsessed. He’s best known for taking pictures of daily life on the streets of Paris; he was one of the first artists to take photos of normal, working class people, and I find pictures of people to be almost as interesting as pictures of food.

Speaking of which, for lunch, quelle surprise! We had cheeseburgers! Albeit, cooked very rare, with gruyere cheese and fancy whole wheat buns-but burgers nonetheless! I was quite content to have a typical American meal for the sheer novelty of it. Of course, the meal wasn’t complete without salad, a cheese plate, wine, and crème brulée for dessert, but hey-it was almost like being back in the States.

I don't care what country it's in-that's a darn good burger.

After a great conversation with my dad via Skype, I went downstairs to find that Laurent’s sister Nathalie and her son Maxime had popped in for a visit! The whole family spent the rest of the evening talking, laughing our faces off over Simon’s inability to lose a board game gracefully, and eating lots and lots of pizza. It was a wonderful afternoon, and I only wish I could have video taped the whole thing to play whenever I need a good laugh.

Now that I understand more and more of what’s being said, I hear the  jokes, puns, and general lightness to the conversation that went over my head just a few weeks ago. I’m beginning to realize how lucky I am to have found such a wonderful family to be with during my time abroad. Truly, I’m living with the most competitive, sarcastic, and opinionated crew of French people in the entire country. We get along swimmingly.

2 comments on “Family Is What You Make It

  1. Lara says:

    You are killing me with the food photos! Yum.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

