Nan You’re a Window Shopper

As usual, my Monday off meant wandering around Tours, taking pictures of the crowds, and snacking at every possible location along the way.

My heart wants to buy all the new Spring clothes I see in the beautiful storefront windows, but my wallet and brain tell me to save the money for travel and food. The French have perfected the art of decorating their shops with the most elaborate displays of products I’ve ever seen, but I must stand strong, even though I have to walk through the main shopping district to get to school every day. I have such a rough life.

Simon and I worked on irregular plurals today-an incredibly annoying subject for him and a trying one for me. It’s so hard to explain why the plural of mouse is mice, but the plural of house is houses, and all the other particulars of the labyrinth that is the English language. He’s just going to have to memorize it-because there isn’t a trick to learning such things! Not his favorite English lesson so far, but it was necessary. As he progresses, the lessons get harder for him to comprehend and for me to explain. Pretty soon he’ll surpass what I can teach while speaking French, and then I’ll have to resort to online resources to try to help us both!

One comment on “Nan You’re a Window Shopper

  1. Lara says:

    I agree with Simon. It is hard and does not make sense! Have you taught him about ya’ll vs youse guys? That is another issue entirely. perhaps he will come spend the summer with us next year.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

