Home Again

Today was a day of studying and lamenting the fact that I don’t live in Bordeaux. Quel dommage.

As the semester winds to a close, I find myself actually having work to do, which is a strange experience here in France. Back home, I’m used to having at least two hours of solid reading or written homework each night, not to mention hours worth of papers and projects toward the end of the semester. Here, I average about two hours a week, and that’s fine by me!
After describing this disparity to my host-mom, she told me that the French think of university study as a “reward” of sorts after the back-breaking work at the lycée (college-prep high school) level. Heck, I consider my university to be much more manageable than the work level of high school, but I still have quite a bit to do each night!
The French love their free time, and not even academia is going to stand in the way of it.

This evening, I had the pleasure of watching an abridged version of Macbeth performed by an all-female, all-French cast, which was exactly as good as could be expected for a bunch of non-English speakers trying to quote Shakespeare. After that debacle, it was back home for a typical French dinner of smoked duck and ratatouille. Yum! It’s sad to be away from beautiful Bordeaux, but nice to be back in Tours for all the home cooking!

Leave a Reply

