Where The Skies Are So Blue

I hope all of you have experienced a moment when someone went out of their way just to make you smile. 

 

As I’ve said, my apartment is on the third floor of my school, just above the main hallway and lobby. It’s wonderful to have such a short commute to work! 🙂 Last Friday morning, I floated down from my castle tower to join the throng of students that was milling about in the lobby in between classes. As I nodded hello to a few of my terminale students, I heard the introduction to a song that is very near and dear to my heart. At first, I thought I was imagining it, but then the crowd parted, and I looked down to see one of the school administrators and two students on guitar singing their hearts out to Lynyrd Skynyrd’s Sweet Home Alabama just for me. 

I think I probably shrieked with pleasure, and in no time at all we were standing in a circle with me singing every word to the southern anthem. I smiled so hard my cheeks were sore, and it was wonderful.

They had waited all morning for me to walk down that staircase and listen to their two-minute song, and it absolutely made my day. 

One comment on “Where The Skies Are So Blue

  1. Joe McFalls says:

    I hope they know Free Bird, too ……

Leave a Reply

