Edith Piaf Got it Right

As it’s les Vacances de la Toussaint here in France, I am currently on a two-week vacation from school. Yes, fitting perfectly into their stereotype of being café-sipping, striking-at-the-drop-of-a-hat sluggards, the French can’t go more than five weeks without some sort of break. As Edith Piaf once sang:

Je ne veux pas travailler                                        I don’t want to work

Je ne veux pas déjeuner                                         I don’t want to eat

Je veux seulement oublier                                     I simply want to forget

et puis je fume.                                                        And then, I’ll smoke.

 As silly as it may seem, at least it gives me the chance of having lots of time off to see a bit of the region!

Rather than take a big trip out of the country during these two weeks, I’ve decided to spend the time going on little daytrips in the area, thereby learning more about the region I’m actually living in and (hopefully) saving some money. I started yesterday by popping over to the neighboring village to visit two fellow assistants. We ate a lovely lunch (goat cheese salad, omelettes, fries, coffee, and dessert), went exploring through a gorgeous wooded park for a couple of hours, and generally had a great time chatting and getting to know one another. The two girls, one Californian and one Brit, are both very cool and definitely people I’m happy to know here.

My delicious pecan-encrusted ice cream scoop!

My delicious pecan-encrusted ice cream scoop! Sprinkles are coming back, you guys.

One lovely view (plus a sunspot) from our walk in the park.

One lovely view (plus one ugly sunspot) from our walk in the park.

Today, I did almost exactly the same thing, but with yet another fellow assistant, this time a British guy who’s being very patient while dealing with our otherwise all-female group of assistants. We wandered all over our town after lunch at our town’s seemingly most crowded café and thoroughly enjoyed mocking each others’ accents.

Iron gates leading to a small chapel within the local cathedral

Iron gates leading to a small chapel within the local cathedral

I’m very happy to see that the other assistants, though all very different and with a wide range of backgrounds, are people I think I’ll enjoy spending time with. While studying in Tours, I often felt like I was thrown in with students who didn’t share my priorities or goals for the study abroad experience. While a wonderful part about travel is (of course) meeting new people and being exposed to different worldviews and lifestyles, my difficulty in forming lasting friendships while in Tours was due to more of a clash between personalities than cultural backgrounds. Here, though, it seems as though we’ll all be pretty good buds. 🙂

5 comments on “Edith Piaf Got it Right

  1. Rhonda Catanzaro says:

    So happy that this two week break came…it gives you the chance to get out and explore which gives your Faithful Readers a chance to see the region through your eyes–and camera lens!

  2. Joe McFalls says:

    Nice people, great scenery, tasty food….

  3. Michelle - Holcim says:

    Kaycee – I just wanted to take the opportunity to tell you how proud I am of you. You are amazing and are living out the dreams of many. I only wish I was brave enough to venture to such wonderful countries. I absolutely love the pictures and the colorful way you tell every story. Truly talented, you are indeed. Your Dad is extremely proud of his #1 Daughter and rightfully so. Be sure to update your Cast of Characters with the fellow assistants soon. Oh, and if you don’t mind, can you share a picture of the farmer’s market soon? I’d love to see it!

Leave a Reply

