Reasons Why Veganism Is Impossible In France

This is becoming a food blog, and I refuse to apologize for it.

An easy meal I’ve made multiple times recently is roasted zucchini (or other types of winter squash) and mushrooms. Can we take a moment to laud the gloriousness that is mushrooms? Wrought from dirt and damp, the humble mushroom grows into a meaty, creamy wonder that fills the stomach with warmth and happiness. They’re my new favorite food.

zucchini and a bit of olive oil, ready to go into the oven

zucchini and a bit of olive oil, ready to go into the oven

I lined up an entire sliced zucchini on an olive oil-drizzled pan and popped it into the oven, then got started on my mushrooms. After they’d been cooking on high in a pat of butter for five minutes or so, I turned down the heat, doused them in crème fraiche, and let them cook down even further. Hey, we’re in Normandy, people. Butter and cream are a major part of the local agriculture. I’m helping the economy. After the cream had turned a beautiful gravy color and the mushrooms looked more like Krispy Kreme original glazed than vegetables, I sprinkled some parmesan on my roasting zucchini, and turned the broiler on. Two minutes later and my meal was ready!

The final plate: mushrooms in cream sauce and parmesan-roasted zucchini

The final plate: mushrooms in cream sauce and parmesan-roasted zucchini

I’m counting this as a halfway healthy meal and a vegetarian success. The cooking journey continues!

5 comments on “Reasons Why Veganism Is Impossible In France

  1. LFFL says:

    That looks soooooo good! Love it!

  2. Rhonda says:

    Yummo! Yes, please. At least, with cream and butter, no animal is harmed…just slightly inconvenienced……lol

  3. Mom says:

    Yum! I request this exact meal when I see you..please.

  4. Joe McFalls says:

    It looks great!

Leave a Reply

