You Can’t Win ‘Em All

I missed my train.

I fell off my bike.

Twice.

In front of my students.

 

Nothing that couldn’t be cured with homemade cookies and a French movie musical marathon with friends, but still, not the best of mornings. Sometimes I have to remind myself (and my family and friends back home) that this is real life and it’s possible to have bad days even while “living the dream” in France. This isn’t a vacation, this is my real world, and even though most days are beautiful and I’m still enamored with the Normande way of life, it’s not always quite so Disney as it seems. There are days when I don’t feel like getting out from my cozy bed, days when there’s no food in the fridge, and days when I miss my train and fall off my bike. Twice.

Essentially, living here is just like living in the States. Except it’s France.

Wow, Kaycee, you’re such a good writer. You should do a blog or something.

In the meantime, I can now highly recommend that you make your own potato-chip cookies by adding classic Ruffles to your favorite sugar cookie recipe, crack open a bottle of wine, and watch The Umbrellas of Cherbourg the next time you feel down. I’m no doctor, but I’m pretty sure it’s a scientifically viable cure for a rough day.

Here’s hoping yours goes better than mine.

5 comments on “You Can’t Win ‘Em All

  1. 8975bluejaylane says:

    Chocolat the movie and Love, Actually are my go to movies…..will have to try the cookie recipe……

  2. Mom says:

    I cannot even imagine one of my teachers riding a bike!

  3. Joe McFalls says:

    Wow, Kaycee, you’re such a good writer…..

Leave a Reply

