Appreciating It

My apologies for the lack of posts lately! The days pass so quickly here, and sometimes it’s all I can do to get half of the day’s to-do list crossed off within twenty-four hours. 

Three weeks ago seems like yesterday, and weekends are a total blur. Some of the other assistants have begun counting down the days to our next vacation (which begins March 1st) and even to the end of our work contracts (April 26th). I’m quite conscious of the fact of tempus fugit, and I can’t imagine anything worse than this time ending so soon!

My problem is with individual days. I don’t want May to come so quickly, but I frequently find myself wishing for 11 PM so I can dive into bed. I wake up in the morning with a groan and a violent smacking of the snooze button, and I majorly stress over getting things over and done with during the day. Basically, sometimes I forget how good I’ve got it.

I’m living the dream!

I don’t even mean the dream of living in France-just the dream of living.

I have a family that loves and supports me, even from a few thousand miles away. I received an affordable university education that is recognized throughout the world. That lovely warm bed I’ve mentioned is there for me every night, along with multiple boxes of tea to choose from each morning. I have change in my wallet that allowed me to pick up the medications I needed last week at the neighborhood pharmacy. My eyes see (thanks to LASIK), my ears hear, and my tongue tastes the delicious food that fills my fridge. I have trouble deciding what to wear from my closet full of clothes. I’m twenty-two years old with the world at my feet and a million possibilities for the future.

You get the picture.

I’m going to try to do a little less worrying and a lot more appreciating in the next few weeks. It’s easy to savor vacations and parties, but remembering to be happy through the beautifully average days is just as important. I think it’s something we could all manage to work on.

 

 

One comment on “Appreciating It

  1. Rhonda Catanzaro says:

    Love this post, Kaycee Leigh……good message for all of us! We are so lucky, blessed, whatever term works best for you. LOVE

Leave a Reply

