30 Days of Happiness: Week 1!

Thanks so much for your input on the 30 Days of Happiness plan I proposed last week! Several of you seemed keen on reading about this gratitude challenge, so I’ve been taking daily notes and reflecting on the most meaningful parts of each happy moment all week long.

Without further ado, here’s a quick list of some of the things that made me smile in the past week:

Sunday, February 23: first time visiting the public pool with Virginie and Cristy. For a few euros, we had the distinct pleasure of trying out the lane pool, the kiddie slide, and even a delicious sauna and steam room for a couple hours. More importantly, we got to count how many males were wearing smaller bikini bottoms than me.

Monday, February 24: Cristy and I went on a walk along the river, and for the first time since forever, I was able to shrug off my jacket and enjoy the beautiful weather sans manteau! Spring is fighting hard to reach Normandy.

Wednesday, February 26: In an improvisation exercise with my secondes, I reached a personal goal of making the students think their English teacher might actually be insane. Teaching is great; classrooms make the perfect captive audience for this theatre-loving lady.

Friday, February 28: Last school day before the two-week winter break! One of the English teachers and I have become such brain twins that we are able to conduct an entire class, complete with songs, jokes, and choreography, without any preparation at all. Basically, we just goof off and the students respond with blank stares.

Monday, March 3: I ate the most delicious pain au chocolat aux amandes (chocolate croissant with roasted almonds) while walking in town this afternoon. There’s nothing like running errands with powdered sugar down your shirt.

 

Thanks again for your comments on this idea. Taking a few moments every night to scribble down the day’s highlights has made me immediately aware of my own tendency to dwell on the negative and my need to think positive! Feel free to take the 30 Day challenge with me, and tell me about your own happy moments in the comments!

5 comments on “30 Days of Happiness: Week 1!

  1. Lara says:

    Too much to choose from! My family encouraging one another, my Father laughing as He talks to Siri, King Cake and good memories.

  2. Lucas says:

    Very much needed! My day one entree will include your post as my jump start back into a brand new life!

Leave a Reply

